WATCH YOUR DREAMS DIE AND BE HAPPY NOW.

Meditations on standup comedy, the healing path and the liberating spectacle of watching your childhood dreams die. (Now with added masturbation jokes.)

Nick Sun
12 min readJan 6, 2021
This guy.

For those of you who don’t know my background, I spent 13 years as a standup comedian before I found plant medicine and the healing path.
13 long years spent swearing in sweaty, smoky pub backrooms, learning the art of making drunk strangers temporarily forget about their lives through the medium of masturbation jokes.
I was convinced this was my life path, and it was for a time. I used to think they would have to pry the microphone out of my cold, dead hands before I ever gave up.
But I was wrong.
It was an exciting if not poverty-stricken and precarious existence. I had a lot of early success, which in a way totally fucked me up. I won some prestigious awards and got on TV. I was told I was going to be the next big thing. There was lot of pressure on me to be this next big thing, but I didn’t even know who the fuck I was at that point, I was 21 years old. Riddled with unresolved personal issues, I imploded, sabotaging myself onstage every night and exploring the outer edges of the artform, which meant for about 5 years I wasn’t very funny. My ‘comedy’ act was more like a solipsistic one-man psychodrama that a lot of…

--

--

Nick Sun

Email me at kambogaia@gmail.com and hey, why not support me for $2 a month on patreon while i finish my freaking book? https://www.patreon.com/nicksun x